Bring your friend to work day

Hey there. I don’t often talk about what I do for a living in here, especially since I am not doing much meteorology anymore (for work, anyways). If ever you wanted to see what I do, now‘s your chance! I will be testifying before one of the house committees on Tuesday. Here is a link if you are interested. The live video link shows up here typically the day of the event.

4 Likes

My uncle did that activity regularly as a part of his job for Continental Airlines. Enjoy!

I average about twice per year. I used to hate it because it’s such a kabuki show but, as long as you know that going in. It can be somewhat interesting. The interplay between the legislative and executive branches is a sight to behold from within.

Sir, are you now, or have you ever been, a member of the Yankees Party?

Never!!!

Have you no sense of decency?

One of the things I did in my checkered legal career was write testimony for the AISD Superintendent who was to testify before a Senate oversight committee. I think Sam Ervin was the chairman, but that may be wrong. The administration had removed the District’s funding for bilingual education saying the District was not following the statute, and we were trying to get the funding restored. I did one written version for his oral testimony, which he delivered and submitted to the committee, and a longer, more formal version, which went into the Congressional Record. I traveled to Washington with him and sat with him at the table. That was one of my favorite and most interesting experiences of my law career.

We got the funding restored.

3 Likes

So I’m reading “This Is How They Tell Me The World Ends”, about cyber espionage and cyber warfare. Should I be as terrified as that book would suggest?